We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Detecting Present Mode
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Detecting Present Mode? (Read 1476 times)
Detecting Present Mode?
Aug 14th, 2007, 7:52pm

can i determine in the code if Present has been used?

i have code such as

static boolean FULLSCREEN = true;
if (FULLSCREEN) {
 size(screen.width, screen.height);
} else {
 size(640, 480);
}

then use 'width' and 'height' for scaling my output to fit. however, this requires me to manually set FULLSCREEN as required and i'd like it to just know.

yes, i'm a noob, please be friendly 8)

cheers
andy
Re: Detecting Present Mode?
Reply #1 - Aug 15th, 2007, 11:08pm

you might try using frame.isUndecorated(), since in present mode, that will be set to true.
Reply #2 - Aug 16th, 2007, 7:28pm

ok, thanks.

i added

void setup() {
 println("Undecorated " + frame.isUndecorated());

and got

Undecorated false
Undecorated true

as output when running in Present Mode, two 'falses' when running in windowed mode.

why does setup run twice like that?
Reply #3 - Aug 17th, 2007, 12:49am

it runs twice so that we can dynamically change the renderer on the fly.. it's messy to just switch from the default (Java 2D) to something like OpenGL.

but do this check *after size()* and you should be fine, because only things before size() will run more than once. this is why size() must always be first in setup().
Reply #4 - Aug 17th, 2007, 11:02am

but it's the size i'm trying to change 8) are you saying i should change it twice, once to just force it into opengl mode, the second time to get it to correct size (if necessary)? i will try it.