We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProcessing DevelopmentLibraries,  Tool Development › Compile P5 from command line
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Compile P5 from command line (Read 2944 times)
Compile P5 from command line
May 24th, 2007, 9:04am

After a long break from P5, yesterday I started playing with one of my sketches I did with OpenGL and I ported it quite easily in Eclipse. To export as app I could use FatJar but I was wondering if there was a way to use the fantastic export possibilities P5 has (exporting for instance the executable for mac/linux/win).
Eventually I would create an Ant script to compile and copy my files to the scketch folder, where maybe I my sketch will just instantiate the main class. Does it sound silly? Will it have much more sense to do everything in Eclipse? These doubts because I definitely rely more on P5 capacity to create the whole package than mine Smiley

Any opinion/suggestion?

Thanks, chr
Re: Compile P5 from command line
Reply #1 - May 24th, 2007, 9:36am

you can check out the processing source from svn and alter it to be able to use it to compile from command-line (like opencode does serverside):
http://dev.processing.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=219

a similar (modified) setup can do the same for exporting as application ... i guess.

F
Reply #2 - May 25th, 2007, 1:30am

Thanks Fjen for the precious link. It doesn't look that straight forward but I'll give it a go.

Cheers, chr
Reply #3 - Apr 9th, 2008, 7:55pm