We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Hello, and a question.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Hello, and a question. (Read 494 times)
Hello, and a question.
May 3rd, 2007, 2:37pm

I'm just starting out with Processing today, and I'm kind of surprised how painless it's been, so far! Cool!

Now, I'm wanting to take a user-drawn line (mouse input), and turn it into an object. It seems like createGraphic() is sort of the way to go, but it demands that I know the size of the drawing's boundaries when I create the object... which I obviously don't.

I'm sure this has been done a thousand times, so any tips greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

J.
Re: Hello, and a question.
Reply #1 - May 3rd, 2007, 3:39pm

welcome!

first thing: a better title helps with getting your qestions answered ..

i think you just need to know when the mouse-input starts and when it ends. in between you just record the coordinates in an array. once the user finished his drawing you can use that array for whatever you want ( send it to an object, keep it somewhere else, ..). so there is no need to use createGraphics which will just give you another "layer" for drawing.

maybe you need to describe your project in a little more detail for us .. so we can give better "support".

best,
F
Re: Hello, and a question: Lines to Objects
Reply #2 - May 3rd, 2007, 3:48pm

cheers, and thanks for the tip!