We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpElectronics,  Serial Library › serial.list() super slow ... 10 seconds win XP
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
serial.list() super slow ... 10 seconds win XP (Read 3715 times)
serial.list() super slow ... 10 seconds win XP
Mar 7th, 2007, 6:05pm

I'm new to processing but I'm excited about the possibilities.

I'm trying to open a com port to COM10, which is a virtual port to a bluetooth serial protocol device.  I can open that port with TeraTerm Pro and get data from my device, but processing can't seem to open it.

I'm seeing that Serial.list() takes about 10 seconds to return!  I get:
COM1 COM2 COM9 COM10 COM11

When I try to open the port to COM10 (Serial.list()[3]
 port = new Serial( this, Serial.list()[3]);
It never seems to open.

I saw on the technical ref pages that if you find that Serial.list() never returns it might be because the exec bit isn't set for the serial .dll.  Does that have anything to do with this?

I'm running WinXP Home, fully updated.  I've tried noodling with processor affinity and all that, but I can't seem to get it to work.

Ideas?  Help?!
Re: serial.list() super slow ... 10 seconds win XP
Reply #1 - Mar 9th, 2007, 5:36pm

that sounds like a serial driver problem between your bt driver and xp, unfortunately. or perhaps rxtx (the serial lib we use) doesn't like the driver. i would suspect that it might actually be working, but just taking forever to communicate (ala the list() problem).

the exec bit issues are rare on windows, it's more of a macosx/linux problem.

let us know what you find...
Reply #2 - Mar 9th, 2007, 11:34pm

Fry,