We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Newbie problem. (Read 1560 times)
Newbie problem.
May 2nd, 2006, 12:37am

Hi I'm Kelvin Lee from Malaysia. I'm studying Chris Mendoza's ghostly mirror processing artwork. I'm having difficulties getting it to work. I've contacted him and he has helped me to sort out the bugs. but he doesn't have a camera so he can't check out the camera part. I'm using a dv cam = panasonic NV-GS70 for the input and running it with processing 0114. Quicktime 7 and WinVdig_105. running all that on a windows xp and my cpu is an AMD 64bit processor with 1gb of ram. My problem now is there is nothing that comes out except a white background. Here is the scripts in notepad format. I've also tried running the camera with the mirror example included with processing 0114 and it works. Just that for Chris's work it didn't show any output.

here's the link to the script that was used.

http://www.klekdesign.com/script2.txt

looking forward to your replies. Thanks.
Re: Newbie problem.
Reply #1 - May 2nd, 2006, 12:58am

It looks like you've kinda misunderstood how the video library works by the looks of it.

In the Old Processing (which is what it looks like you've adapted the code from - Ah, the old days...) you needed to wait for a new frame and reserved a boolean for this (newFrame on your code).