We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Clock (Read 764 times)
Clock
Sep 16th, 2006, 6:40am

I need help figuring out what is probably a very basic function in Processing. (Not looking for someone to do it for me, but I do need to be baby-stepped through understanding how this works since I'm completely new to programming).

I am making a clock for a class assignment. What I'd like to do is simply use a jpg image as the background and then have a long line and a short line to represent the hour and minute hands ticking on top of the image in realtime hours/minutes/seconds.

I've found all of the "Time & Date" codes in the Language Reference, but I need help figuring out how to impliment multiple time codes at once and how to apply them to the moving lines, and how to make those lines move properly.

Any help is much appreciated. Feel free to add me to MSN or email me directly at beth.a.dillon@gmail.com. I need a tutor in Processing!

- Beth
Re: Clock
Reply #1 - Sep 16th, 2006, 3:00pm

Here's a little bit to help you get started.  You know seconds go from 0 to 60.  Angles of rotation go from 0 to 360 degrees (or 0 to 2*PI radians.)  To convert the range of seconds to radians, then, you divide by 60 and multiply by TWO_PI;

Code:

int s = second();
float theta = (s / 60.0) * TWO_PI;

Once you know the angle, you can use it to rotate a line (or whatever shape you choose to indicate seconds.)   This code will place the line in the center of the window (x: width/2, y: height/2).

Code:

translate(width/2,height/2);
rotate(-theta);
line(0,0,width/2,0);