We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › some functions (like int) not working
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
some functions (like int) not working (Read 503 times)
some functions (like int) not working
Sep 10th, 2006, 10:52pm

Hi
this is my first time posting, and I'm brand new to Processing.

I'm trying to make a simple sketch and for some reason, the program won't recognize the "int" command.  It says "unexpected token: int"
Any advice?

Thanks
Re: some functions (like int) not working
Reply #1 - Sep 10th, 2006, 11:27pm

You should post some code.  Too hard to tell what might be wrong if we cant see the actual code.

When posting code, be sure to use the [ code] and  [ /code] tags so it formats properly.  (remove the space from before 'code' and '/code')
Reply #2 - Sep 11th, 2006, 2:40pm

Not that I'm an expert in Processing, but with the lil bit of experience I've got, this is what I think would've gone wrong...
You've most probably put the int, between the setup() and the draw() function.
Processing allows global variables to be declared before the setup() function, but if you want to declare variables anywhere else, you'll have to declare variables, inside functions.
or, you might have missed out a semicolon or a closing bracket somewhere. Smiley Posting the code will get you help a lot more faster. Smiley
Cheers
Reply #3 - Sep 12th, 2006, 12:00am

I'm sure what your happen, normal is better put the code in the post to help you.

This piece of code make a some variable int, one of the are empty(with put his name of variable) and proboke an error: "unexpected token: int".

Code: