We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › nullpointerexception for background()
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
nullpointerexception for background() (Read 864 times)
nullpointerexception for background()
Apr 15th, 2006, 3:42pm

I'm new to Processing and trying to load an image as a background.  The following code (which I copied from a reference page) generates a NullPointerException:

void setup() {
  size(1000,300);
  PImage b;
  b = loadImage("bubbles.jpg");
  background(b);
}

But the following code works --

void setup() {
  size(1000,300);
  PImage b;
  b = loadImage("bubbles.jpg");
  image(b,0,0);
}

Am I missing some subtlety of the background() method?  Thanks.
Re: nullpointerexception for background()
Reply #1 - Apr 15th, 2006, 4:41pm

hello adrianne,

as far as I know you cannot send an PImage as an argument into background function. it will only accept RGB or HSB mode. check the reference.

if you want to load an image to the  background you can still do it as your second example. background is merely a function that draws a color on the screen, you can simulate it by drawing a rect as well.

rect(0,0,width,height,1);
// draw a rect size of the width,height with
// coordinates(0,0) and transparency of 1
Reply #2 - Apr 15th, 2006, 4:46pm

Both the API and example section claim it can be done (http://processing.org/learning/examples/backgroundimage.html) as such (with a PImage) but perhaps that feature has not been implemented yet?
Reply #3 - Apr 15th, 2006, 5:57pm