We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Threading and java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Threading and java.lang.OutOfMemoryError (Read 473 times)
Threading and java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
Apr 8th, 2006, 3:11am

This is my first attempt playing around with threading in java/processing. I have a simple animation of a bouncing ball while I attempt to launch a thread that loads a file and copies lat/lon coordinates to corresponding lat/lon float[] arrays.

The threading seems to begin without any issues, but as the coordinates are parsed and appended to float[] arrays, it eventually encounter a java.lang.OutOfMemoryError. It never seems to occur at the same point, so I don't think it's actually running out of memory. Plus I've been able to load all of the coordinates in and copy them to float arrays without threading.

Here is the threaded code:

Code:
import java.lang.Thread;

LoadData f;
Bounce b;
float[] lat_coords = new float[0];
float[] lon_coords = new float[0];

void setup(){
size(200,200);
framerate(60);
smooth();
f = new LoadData("GLBOUNDS_MIF.MIF");
b = new Bounce();
}

void draw(){
background(0);
b.draw();
}

void mousePressed(){
f.start();
}

class LoadData extends Thread{
String filename;
String[] lines_all;
boolean record = false;
boolean regionstart = false;
boolean polystart = false;
LoadData(String filename_){
filename = filename_;
lines_all = loadStrings(filename);
}

void run(){
for(int i=0; i<lines_all.length; i++){
if(lines_all[i].startsWith("DATA")){
record = true;
}
if(record){
if(lines_all[i].startsWith("REGION")){
regionstart = true;