We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Framerate / redraw problem
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Framerate / redraw problem (Read 788 times)
Framerate / redraw problem
Feb 8th, 2006, 5:10pm

Hi, I'm only new to processing and have written a simple automated car(rectangle) which steers around the screen.  I'm not redrawing the background atm because I'm playing with the idea of drawing the path it travels.  It's works, but my problem is that I want it to draw faster but move the same amount each frame.  I have tried wrapping a for loop around the function calls in the draw() structure, but it doesn't work as expected.  Does anyone know hwo to make the car(rectangle) draw faster lines all over the place but still move at the same increment / space each frame?

Here's the code:

||----------------------->

float xVelo, yVelo, x, y, angle, speed, rotation, t;

int screenWidth = 500;
int screenHeight = 500;
int i = 0;

Car car = new Car(screenWidth/2,screenHeight/2,4,2);

void setup() {
 //frame.setUndecorated(true);
 size(screenWidth,screenHeight);
 noStroke();
 background(0);
 framerate(1000);
}

void draw() {
   //background(0);
   car.Move();
   car.Render();
   smooth();
}

class Car {
 float x,y,a,b,speed,steerRate;

//Main constructor, setup basic parameters
 Car(float ix, float iy, int ia, int ib) {
   x = ix;
   y = iy;
   a = ia;
   b = ib;

speed = 1;
   steerRate = 0.05;
 }

//Method called to move a car
 void Move() {
   float xpos = x;
   float ypos = y;

float rand = random(50);
   if (rand > 48) {
     steerRate = steerRate * -1;
   }    

//Calculate rotation and speed
   t += steerRate;