We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Animating an image without using background
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Animating an image without using background (Read 759 times)
Animating an image without using background
Jan 11th, 2006, 3:32pm

Hi there,
I am new to Processing.I have an array of images displayed on screen.I want to animate a particular  image to new posiiton,how it can be done without using background method?

I tried to display all images at there old position except one which I want to move( which is displayed towards new position).
Every time I need to set background and then display all the images.But in that way it became very slow.

plz help

Thanks,
Re: Animating an image without using background
Reply #1 - Jan 11th, 2006, 4:29pm

You can't redraw to the screen with out calling background(). Otherwise the stuff just builds up. Without seeing your code I'm guessing that you're running through an array of images and putting them on screen every loop of draw().

I think one solution might be to save the image of the applet in a PImage and then use that as your background. Then when you need to make your changes, only draw the couple of images you're moving about and save the screen again.

Again my psychic powers are a bit rusty but here's how to save the screen:
Code:

PImage saveMe;
void setup(){
size(200,200);
saveMe = new PImage(width,height);
rect(20,20,20,20);
loadPixels();
saveMe = get();
}
void draw(){
background(0);
image(saveMe,mouseX,mouseY);
}
Reply #2 - Jan 12th, 2006, 6:15pm

Hi there,