We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › Basic animation problem
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Basic animation problem (Read 987 times)
Basic animation problem
Dec 13th, 2005, 11:57pm

As a Processing newbie, I am confused about how to animate a line in Processing. I've looked at your Linear example:

// Linear
// by REAS <http://reas.com>

float a = 100;

void setup()
{
 size(200, 200);
 stroke(255);
 framerate(30);
}

void draw()
{
 background(51);
 a = a - 1;
 if (a < 0) {
   a = height;
 }
 line(0, a, width, a);  
}

I understand what's going on here fine. But if I rewrite this using a 'for' loop rather than an 'if' test as follows:

// Linear . Saulbass (for) version

void setup()
{
 size(200, 200);
 stroke(255);
 framerate(30);
}

void draw()
{
 background(51);
 for(int a=10; a<80; a=a+5) {
   line(0, a, 200, a);  
   }
}

the program waits until the drawing is completed before displaying the result. i.e. no animation. Just a series of already written lines. Why is this? Can I force a display after each iteration of the line command and hence give the impression of animation.

Apologies if this is elementary but after a day looking through the reference and examples it seems that all the animation examples use 'if' test structures. FWIW I find for's easier to 'read'.

Re: Basic animation problem
Reply #1 - Dec 14th, 2005, 7:05am