We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSyntax Questions › [Newbie] rotating many images
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
[Newbie] rotating many images (Read 947 times)
[Newbie] rotating many images
Aug 16th, 2005, 7:13pm

Hello,

I am new in the wonderful world of processing, and currently I am stuck on a problem that I cant seem to solve. Since I come from Actionscript programming, I have to understand the way processing displays graphical elements first, which I dont do at all at the moment Smiley.

I have a lot of bitmaps which follow the mouse (eek) - and I want them to rotate towards the mouse.
Since the images itself cant be rotated, I looked into the global rotate method, but obviously i do not understand how to make that work...display image and then rotate it is obviously not what I want...

please help a confused person Smiley

Code:

PImage b;
BitmapFollow b1;
BitmapFollow b2;
BitmapFollow b3;

void setup()
{
size (500,500);
framerate(40);
background(255);

b = loadImage("http://processing.org/discourse/public_html/YaBBImages/smiley.gif");

b1 = new BitmapFollow(12);
b2 = new BitmapFollow(4);
b3 = new BitmapFollow(43);
}

void draw()
{
background(255);
b1.draw();
b2.draw();
b3.draw();
}

class BitmapFollow
{

float xm;
float ym;
int fric;
float a;
BitmapFollow(int f)
{
fric = f;
}

void draw()
{
xm += (mouseX - xm)/fric;
ym += (mouseY - ym)/fric;

a = atan2(mouseY-height/2, mouseX-width/2);
//rotate(a); // doesnt work
image(b, xm, ym);
}
}

Re: [Newbie] rotating many images
Reply #1 - Aug 16th, 2005, 7:38pm