We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpIntegration › is there a nice petite xml parser that you like
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
is there a nice petite xml parser that you like? (Read 3560 times)
is there a nice petite xml parser that you like?
Apr 27th, 2005, 7:44pm

I am a bit of a newbie to the java scene. Is there a SMALL xml parser that people like to use with Processing...i want to bring in some xml structured data...and I just don't want to write my own. I can live with minimal functionality and I want something that will run in applet sized environemnt...surely someone has faced this before..

thanks much
-jd

Re: is there a nice petite xml parser that you lik
Reply #1 - Apr 27th, 2005, 8:05pm

I've used Xalan and Xerces before. I'm not sure how well they meet the "small" requirement, but they're easy to set up and use.

Reply #2 - Apr 27th, 2005, 8:35pm

i've used nanoxml with prebeta versions of processing and it worked fine.

goto the old alpha forum (link up top)and search for 'nanoxml'
Reply #3 - Apr 27th, 2005, 11:01pm

Thanks, nanoxml seems to work ok, though I can't seem to get it to read a file directly. No matter though as I can load it myself and parse the big string once I put it together the way nano seems to want it.
Now I can generate my visual trees....this is getting good.
-jd
Reply #4 - Apr 27th, 2005, 11:22pm

try:

Code:

XMLElement xml = new XMLElement();
Reader reader = new InputStreamReader(openStream("eota.xml"));
try{
xml.parseFromReader(reader);
}
catch (Exception e) { e.printStackTrace(); }

where "eota.xml" is inside the "data" folder inside the sketch-folder.

F