FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   General Processing Discussion
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Processing = Design? Art? Other?
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Processing = Design? Art? Other?  (Read 2907 times)
dek

Processing = Design? Art? Other?
« on: Mar 14th, 2005, 11:38pm »

hi all,

im studying interaction design at the university of art and design in zurich, switzerland. today i started attending a course on design-discourse led by gui bonsiepe (anybody know him?). for the course i'll have to write a course-related paper. i've been a fan of processing since i first came across it, so i want to try and fit algorithm-driven design (thats the best description i can find at the moment) into the design-discourse. aside from my individual research i'd like to let the opinion of all those directly involved with processing flow into my work. for that reason i have put together a bunch of questions addressed to everyone who can spare a couple minutes:

1. name/nom de guerre (ignore if you don't want to be named)
2. website (same as 1)

3a what is your job description when NOT using processing? (e.g. Artist, Teacher, Student, ...)
3b what's your background?

4. what in your opinion best describes you WHILE you're using processing? (e.g. Designer, Artist, Programmer, ... , can be the same as in 3)

5a. is there need for an all-new description for this kind of work? suggestions? (e.g. man-machine-design)
5b. what would you call the output after you run the code? design? art? other?

6. who does more work?
- the human
- the computer
- equal

7. when creating a sketch the computer is...
...your dumb little underling
...your helpful buddy

8. what would you call the transformation of logical input (code) to visual output?  

9. when you start a new sketch what is is your main goal?