FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   General Processing Discussion
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Processing, java differentiators...
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Processing, java differentiators...  (Read 399 times)
rherman

Processing, java differentiators...
« on: Mar 11th, 2004, 5:24am »

I am new to Processing. I love the work being showcased, but I am not clear from the docs on what differentiates it from just coding in java, compiling, and posting a standard java applet. Is it the libraries, the auto compile and index.html file for those that may never have programmed? For the past 2 years, I've been using Blender with it's built-in python scripting API to visualize math and science concepts and just to create pretty pictures. I am going to dive into Processing to clear up my ignorance. The Processing community seems very vibrant and productive.Thanks.

Rob

REAS

Re: Processing, java differentiators...
« Reply #1 on: Mar 11th, 2004, 9:25am »

One one level, it is just an easy-for-beginners Java IDE, but I think you'll find the graphics library to be very different from Java. Also, because we're only featuring a subset of Java and have some implicit assumptions about what people are making, we can produce code which is far simpler. For example:
http://processing.org/reference/compare/processing_java.html

Have a look at the code in the examples:
http://processing.org/learning/index.html

I've never looked at Blender so I can't speak to the differences.

rherman

« Reply #2 on: Mar 12th, 2004, 12:57am »