FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   General Processing Discussion
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Is this Feasible using Processing?
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Is this Feasible using Processing?  (Read 356 times)
daiman otto
Email
Is this Feasible using Processing?
« on: Jan 23rd, 2004, 12:40am »

HI Everybody,

I am very new to Processing, but am glad to have “found” it. I have an idea I want to explore, and want to ask you guys if you think it is possible using Processing. At this stage, it is still in formation, but I think it is doable as it stands. It was developed initially as a thesis project for my Architecture degree at RMIT in Melbourne.

Basically, the elements of the system will be:

1. a web/anemone of etymological roots (approx 500-600 “words” forming an interrelated web. These words form the basis of indo-European languages.  
For example the root magh-  
DEFINITION: To be able, have power.
Derivatives include dismay, might1, machine, and magic.  
1a. may1, from Old English magan, to be able; b. dismay, from Old French esmaier, to frighten. Both a and b from Germanic *magan, to be able…….. etc.

So we have this system of relations, some of which relate to each other, some don’t. I assume this web will be organised alphabetically, by narrative.

2. An input of words/narrative that maps (in real-time) through the etymological web connecting relations and forming lines, where correlations are found between the inputted word and the corresponding root. In effect, there may be a dictionary as an intermediary phase that eliminates words that don’t have roots, therefore aren’t useful.

3. The ability to export these lines/surfaces into a modelling program such as Rhino for surfacing