FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Programming Questions & Help
   Syntax
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   variable masking and modulo
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: variable masking and modulo  (Read 393 times)
st33d

WWW Email
variable masking and modulo
« on: Mar 2nd, 2005, 8:37pm »

I'm working in C trying to communicate with a micro-controler. I came across a funny statement in the code which was using switch() to swap between eight states on the machine. My first thought was, "so where's the bloody modulo function? How can you just keep incrementing the state with out using modulo?" And that's when I noticed this piece of &= code that I'm unfamiliar with. And I thought - "does it work in Processing?" It does. I'm fairly new to all the wierd bit operations. But what I want to know is- is this how modulo is performed inside the modulo function? Is variable masking faster than modulo? And last but not least, is there a way I can use this variable masking stuff with graphics operations? If anyone has some examples I'd love to know of them. Getting deeper into computing means dealing more and more with the infamous ones and zeros and it's interesting to know how they work.

Code:

int state = 0;
void setup(){}
void loop(){
state++;
state &= 0xFF;
//state %= 256;
println (state);
}

PS: If in future I'm worried about the speed of a statement does anyone know of some code to time the execution speed? It would mean I wouldn't have to post the board with speed questions anymore (I know speed is relative to machine - but a test mechanism sure would help me sleep better on some code jobs (the mechanism would have to acount for its own execution time too - tricky)).
« Last Edit: Mar 2nd, 2005, 8:52pm by st33d »  

I could murder a pint.
Quasimondo

WWW Email
Re: variable masking and modulo