FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Programming Questions & Help
   Syntax
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Turning a string[] into a buncha chars
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Turning a string[] into a buncha chars  (Read 307 times)
_bula

Turning a string[] into a buncha chars
« on: Jul 11th, 2004, 12:47am »

I'm new at this "really programming" thing and I've run into a brick wall with my latest challenge.

THE GOAL:
I want this sketch to be an interactive block of text which can be imported from a remote text file (mostly because there will be an abundance of text). For an all "a" example goto http://www.carambula.com/processing/a_block.html

THE PROBLEM(s):
I need to import the text, which meens it will be a string array, even with a non-formatted text file. I've been using substring to get the individual letters into the individual objects, I can successfully load the text from a txt file, but for some reason I can't join the incoming string array in order to crawl it and get the individual characters. These bits of code are in the example, but I commented them out.

I have other issues, too. I'd like to see this block of text eventually containing all punctuation and spaces. I am also, like I said, an extreme novice, and I'd really appreciate some clear explanations. I can pick up on things, but I'm struggling to find sources of specific information.

Thanks so much in advance, just from my reading in these forums, this is an awesome community. If there's anything further you need from me to better understand my plight, by all means, yell at me a bit and I'll respond ASAP.

mattgilbert

tangramkid WWW Email
Re: Turning a string[] into a buncha chars
« Reply #1 on: Jul 11th, 2004, 2:03am »

String wordsAndSuch = "blah";
char[] data = String.toCharArray(wordsAndSuch);