FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Programming Questions & Help
   Programs
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Beginner osx big screen size = slow and flicker
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Beginner osx big screen size = slow and flicker  (Read 561 times)
Tommi

Beginner osx big screen size = slow and flicker
« on: Feb 11th, 2004, 1:44am »

Hi,  

I'm quite new to processing and come from a director/flash background. Because of the speed of Processing I thought it might be a good idea to try to code my next little app in processing.
But I ran into the following problem.

Here is my really basic test code:

void setup () {

size(800,600);
  background(#000000);

}

void loop() {

background( #000000 );
  my_x = (my_x + 5) % width;
  my_y = (my_y + 5) % height;
  ellipse(my_x, my_y, 55, 55);

}

The problem is that as soon I increase the screen size, the ellipse slows more and more down and I get a kind of flickering effect of the ellipse as it moves (in processing and in the browser). I showed it to a java coding friend of mine and he said something about a tearing effect, which I cant really believe but didnt really know an answer.

Is processing not at all meant for bigger sketch sizes? I want to code a vj app and want to run it in something like 800*600. I tried the same code at my mac at work and it runs already better but this comp is also a lot faster.

For fun I added the getMeterLevel() code from the sonia examples, because thats what i want to work with, and then the whole thing ran even a lot slower, any mouse input has been delayed for almost a sec, the input meters appeared almost a sec after the sound playing. Plus there were random screen refreshs or black and white 'patterns' inside the applet.

Maybe its a problem of my particular computer,  

Here my specs: