FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Topics & Contributions
   Simulation, Artificial Life
(Moderator: REAS)
   Phi?
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Phi?  (Read 1357 times)
Peace_Heather

Phi?
« on: Jan 9th, 2004, 7:37pm »

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum.  I'm NOT a programmer (unless you really think the BASIC and LOGO I played with about 15 years ago counts).  I just really enjoy looking at the things you all have managed to create.

So I'm going to ask a possibly foolish question: Is it possible for you to play with irrational numbers, specifically "phi", in Processing?

(phi = square root of five, divided by two, plus one-half = 5^.5 * .5 + .5 = 1.6180339887...)

I am also not a mathematician; I've only begun studying this number recently, and finding it very cool.  (Da Vinci loved it, so I guess I'm in good company.)  Phi shows up in nature ALL the freaking TIME, and I thought it might be a useful piece of information for all you artificial-life people to have, if you didn't already.  

Basically, if you take two line segments AB and BC, such that the ratio of AB:BC = 1:phi, then you'll also see that the ratio of BC:AC = 1:phi.

You can keep adding the line segments together into infinity, following the pattern of the Fibonnaci sequence, and always, always get a ratio of x:phi*x.  Phi is the only number that makes this possible.

Incidentally, if you take the ratios of the Fibonacci numbers themselves (1:1, 1:2, 2:3, 3:5, etc.), you will gradually converge on phi, as well.  If you want to skip the inaccurate part of the sequence and just cut to the chase, all you have to do is take the regular Fibonacci sequence (0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, etc.) and replace the third number, like this:

(0, 1, phi, phi+1, 2phi+1, 3phi+2, 5phi+3, 8phi+5...)