GSoc 2017: Application for processing.py

edited March 2017 in Summer of Code 2017

Hi there!

I'm a second-year Softwear Engineering student from Dalian University of Technology in China,familiar with Java and Python,and have some experience about visul programing.

I read over the Project List page from github,then I downloaded Processing and used couple of days but I found that Processing.py functions are not enough for me. I'd like to expend the processing.py so that the users can use processing in python mode more esier and more efficient.

Here are some of my ideas about extending processing.py:

1. Data Type:I found the references of processing.py shows less data types than I thought,maybe we can provide more types like long,tuple_or_complex.
  2. Methods:maybe we ciould provide more Dictionary(.clear(),.copy()...),List(.count()) or String(endwith(),capitalize()...) methods to user to make proccesing more esier to get someting done.
  3. Date&Time:should we add some methods like format() or sleep()
  4. 3D Primitives:rotate(angle, x, y, z)_sometimes is not enough ,we could provide _frame or other stuff.
  5. Math: to fit with the 3D Primaitives we could provide some linear algebra methods to deal with the matrix
  6. ...

Anyway,these are just some of my ideas,I 'd like to know weher I can apply the project Processing.py.If the answer is positive,could you give me some more details about "what proccesing.py exactly need for the New features“?That would be of great help to my application for Processing.py!

Thank your for your help!

Best wishes!

Tagged:

Comments

• Processing.py is based on Jython and you can easily access most of the Python standard library through it. In light of that, couple of comments on your suggestions list: