Using Processing + Makey Makey + Conductive Paint to play a video when an object is touched

edited February 2017 in Library Questions

Hello all,

I am very new to Processing so would appreciate your help.

I have 4 objects painted with BARE conductive electric paint. I have 4 short video clips for each object. Each object has its own video clip. I need a video clip to play when an object is being continuously touched, and for it to pause when the hand is taken off the object.

I have connected a Makey Makey + Alligator clips to the conductive painted objects and also the space bar on the makey makey board. I used the paint on the table surface, so when touching this and the painted object the cursor space is moving in a text doc (just to test).

One of my videos is called M1.mov

The code I have at the moment is but I don't know if it is any good?

import processing.video.*; Movie M1;

void setup() { size(640, 360); background(255); M1 = new Movie(this, "M1.mov"); }

void draw() { background(0); }

void keyPressed() {

if (key == 'r') { image(M1, 0, 0); println("r"); } }

void movieEvent(Movie m) { m.read(); }

Many thanks to all who can help, Vara

Answers

• Please edit your post and format your code. Select your code and press ctrl+o and have an empty line above and below your code.

You need to call M1.play() or M1.loop() in setup for the movie to play. However this does not do what you want. The following does.

Kf

import processing.video.*; 
    Movie M1;

boolean show=false;

void setup() { 
      size(640, 360); 
      background(255); 
      M1 = new Movie(this, "transit.mov");
      M1.loop();
      M1.pause();

}

void draw() { 
      background(0);
      if(show==true) image(M1, 0, 0);
    }

void keyPressed() {

if (key == 'r') { 
        M1.play();
        show=true;
      }

}
    void keyReleased(){
      M1.pause();   
      show=false;
    }

void movieEvent(Movie m) { 
      m.read();
    }

• Thanks kfrajer

I get the following error: