EtchAsketch code modification

edited February 2017 in Arduino

I am working on a science project with my son that involves generating a force as a function of time plot. My idea is to modify the LittleBits EtchAsketch code for this purpose. Accordingly, I would like to know how I could modify the EtchAsketch processing code to measure time along the x-axis. Moreover, I would like to show the numerical values on the vertical and horizontal axes and keep the measured signal. The LittleBits Arduino is based on the Lenoardo board. Any help is welcome. Thanks!

Answers

• Can you provide a link to the code? It will be great if you comment about your experience with processing (or programming) so people can address your question accordingly.

Kf

• Sorry, the link can to both the processing code and arduino code can be found here: http://littlebits.cc/projects/diy-etch-a-sketch . I am a beginner in terms of writing code. I have only made slight modifications to code, but I have never written code from scratch.

• Answer ✓

Hi @trinity

There is a good example that you can use for drawing your input data. In the Processing IDE, go to menu File>>Examples and then click on Basics>>Inputs>>MouseSignals and you will see a cool sketch of plotting mouse signals over the width of the screen. The width of the screen projects time in this example. Now, this example will not work right away as you will need to modify it to suit it to your needs. In the code below I have attempted to write snippet that you could use with your Arduino. However, please keep in mind I didn't have the chance to test it on an actual device. I generated my own data for debugging purposes. Check it out and let me know if you have any questions or issues there. Notice this example is heavily modified from the website you provided. I manage serial incoming data using provided functions from the Serial library. You should be able set any screen size at the beginning of your sketch and the code should work.