I'm trying to use this code, but it seems that it might be "out-dated".

edited January 2017 in Arduino

This is the code I am trying to run in Processing 3.0.1 but it doesn't seem to work. It might be optimized for an older version of Processing, but I'm new to this software and don't exactly know how to use it. Please help, I need this to work for a school project.

/*
  Fiber Optic Grapher - Used with Processing
  Developed/Edited by Arduino and iScience
  More info at instructables.com
*/

import processing.serial.*;

Serial Port;
 int xPosition = 1;

void setup () {
 size(600, 300);        

//Serial Port Manager
 println(Serial.list());

Port = new Serial(this, Serial.list()[0], 9600);
 Port.bufferUntil('\n');

// set background:
 background(0);

}
 void draw () {

}

void serialEvent (Serial Port) {

String inString = Port.readStringUntil('\n');

if (inString != null) {
   inString = trim(inString);
   float inByte = float(inString); 
   inByte = map(inByte * 3 + 250, 0, 1023, 0, height);

// draw line:
   stroke(500,0,0);
   line(xPosition, height - inByte, xPosition,height - inByte);

if (xPosition >= width) {
     xPosition = 0;
     background(0); 
   } 
   else
     xPosition++;
 }
 }

Answers

• Please format your code. Edit post, select code and hit ctrl+o. Ensure there is an empty line above and below your code.

Previous related posts: https://forum.processing.org/two/search?Search=readStringUntil

For example: https://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/comment/85287/#Comment_85287

Kf

• Okay kfrajer, the code is now formatted correctly.

• Also, line 36 gives me an error message that says NaN

• Add the following code btw lines 35 and 36: println("Received: "+inString+" "+inByte); and tell us what you get.