Views on my ideas regarding GSoC ?

Hello everyone, I'm a student at Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur; pursuing B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering. I have an exceptional interest in coding and have accumulated a lot of experience in the past year, and want to put it to good use this summer. I would be glad if people could give their views about my ideas for GSoC 2015.

1) Implementing OpenCV library for Processing.py. I have used this library quite a lot, and personally find it very easy to use, even for small projects which don't require its mathematical portions. Even a small portion of OpenCV would do a nice task for most purposes.

2) Implementing better text-editing tools for Processing IDE, things like a vim-tool (I'm a vim user), emacs tool, and/or a modern syntax/editing tool. I had a lot of trouble with the Arduino IDE, and noticed that the text-editing mode could do with a lot of fixes and improvements. It sounds like a small project for GSoC, comments?

3) Working on processing.py. I am pretty comfortable with Python and JAVA. Any specific things which come to mind concerning this? What should I write about in my proposal for this?

4) Documentation for processing.py. Should this be combined with the above point?

Thanks for taking out your time.

Comments

• Hello ! I can't tell you what is good or not to do for GSoc 2015, I discover only yesterday what it is...

But I am almost sure that OpenCV already exists in Processing, then I don't think it's relevant to do it again :)

I don't know about the others things Good luck !

• edited March 2015

I'm sorry, I forgot to mention. I was planning to port OpenCV for processing.py, the python implementation of Processing. I will make the change above. Thanks for replying :) And thus, if it exists for Processing, it must be relevant. I think it can be done, porting it to processing.py . Views on this are welcome :)