GSOC 2015 Ideas - p5.js WebGL render and Processing/p5.js library for Google Cardboard

Greetings,

My name is Andrew Mendez. I am a 4th computer engineering student studying at the University of Central Florida. Congrats on being accepted to the 2015 GSOC :). I was looking at this thread the day before I was like, I love Processing, how cool would it be apart of the open source project as a GSOC developer :).

I saw in the Processing Project List, you are interested in implementing a WebGL Render and drawing features in p5.js. I recently took an undergraduate course, called an Intro to Computer Graphics, where all my assignments and classwork was implemented in WebGL. So I have extensive experience in WebGL. I have also played around with p5.js and I noticed it did not have a 3D graphic library like Processing did. I think that would be amazing to be apart of that development and enable 3D graphics on p5.js! A note on this is that, as I wouldn't mind completing the development in WebGL, would it be easier to implement a 3D graphics render in p5.js with three.js and also enable shader support? I would like to talk about this idea with you all and see what I can do to be apart of it :).

Another idea I have for GSOC 2015 is implementing a Google Cardboard/Stereoscopic Render library for Processing for Android and p5.js. Google Cardboard, and other Virtual Reality headsets that use mobile phones, is a game changer in terms of virtual reality. The cost of exploration and development into VR is only a smartphone, cardboard, and cheap lenses. Also, mobile browsers on smartphones now enable the capability to render WebGL and three.js, so virtual reality on mobile phones is approaching even closer. I think creating a library that implements a stereoscopic render, drawing canvas, and api on Processing for Android and p5.js would be an amazing opportunity for artists and creative coders to dive in to virtual reality and take VR to a whole new level.