GSoC 2015 Processing Tool

Hi, my name is Zhao Pengfei .I am a second year graduate student of Beijing University of Technology, majored in Software Engineering. I love coding, especially with python, which is a big enthusiasm for me. I’ve done some projects with python, and use it to do some research about the Processing project. The first impression of Processing for me is it has a lot of similarities to the Arduino, and the applications of their united development are very impressive, which I think could be even more powerful with the support of various hardware platforms. Moreover, after done some demos with Processing in Python Mode, I wonder if it is possible for Processing to have a mechanism which allows designers to drag and drop components to the design interface, and generating the corresponding code automatically in the background. I think this will be more friendly and helpful for designer who are unfamiliar with coding.

Btw, I think there are two mistake in Processing tutorials http://py.processing.org/tutorials/objects/ .1: Paragraph heading “Using an Object”, in function move, the x should be global. 2: Paragraph heading “Writing the Cookie Cutter”, in method drive, there should be: self.xpos += self.xspeed. Thank you.

Tagged:

Comments

• Thanks for the ideas. Extending the development environment can be done with a "tool" and we would gladly accept proposals for new Processing tools. Please see the tools wiki on github for more.

https://github.com/processing/processing/wiki/Tool-Overview

Please file errors in the Processing Python Mode documentation here:

https://github.com/kazimuth/processing-py-site/issues