GSoC 2015: Tool/Framework for multiscreen sketches

Hi,

I'm Kevin Martin Jose, a final year Computer science student from college of engineering, Trivandrum. I was accepted into GSoC 2014 with Swathantra Malayalam Computing as a mentoring organization. You can read about my previous GSoC project here.

The idea

What if your sketches were not limited by the four walls of your screen? What if your sketch could span across multiple screens, and render that gigantic interactive demo screen by screen? I propose a framework that can automatically scale a sketch in p5.js to multiple screens.

Will this really work?

I've been experimenting with this idea since a few months, and that resulted in Openmosaic.

I've uploaded screencast of a working but minimal version of the framework on youtube.

When I found out that doing what I had set out to do is going to be very difficult without any drawing libraries, I was quick to jump to p5.js. I modified the library to suit my needs. See this branch.

That looks complicated and buggy

Yes, the project is in its initial phase now and I've been experimenting with different ways to move forward. Loading and scaling sketches is not as simple as it should be. The dream is to be able to write a normal sketch using p5.js, press a few buttons, and suddenly put together your and all your friends' phone screens to view the entire sketch.

The primary challenge