How to get sound from an array to my sound card with minim (AudioOutput).

edited February 2015 in How To...

Hi to all the users out there. This is my first post and it is a question.Now, I've made a sketch with MPX demodulation and analysis in mind . MPX is a multiplexed signal for FM Stereo transmission. I got to the point that i demodulated the MPX and now i have two arrays with the sample for the Left and Right audio channels but i cannot find a way to 'stream' these arrays to my sound card. So now that is my question : How to go from arrays to the AudioOutput command in minim . The arrays are named "left" and "right" and they both are 8192 sample long and the sample rate is 192Khz.

Thank you very much. (I am a newbie so any help will be appreciated).

Answers

• So it seems that there is no way to get sound out of a buffer. Or at least it looks like no one knows how to do it. Thank you very much for looking up the topic. But if there is a solution i will be interested in learning how to do it.

• You can do it directly with java... I will have to dig around for the code I had but from memory it was by using javax.sound.sampled.AudioFormat, opening a data line and writing the data array to it, if that gives you a start?!! Will post again soon!

• Thank you very much. I will be waiting. Any kind of audio out will do since i can do anything else by myself (re sampling, filtering and all the other usual things)

Sincerely Yours Konstantinos

• OK, here's some code, a very limited class to open a data line and write audio data - very incomplete (but it works) and far from 'good' .

To use... create an instance and call play() followed by write() with your audio data.

The idea was to do something similar to android's AudioTrack class to use for audio work rather than a library like Minim, with the aim of being able to then write audio code that will work with minimal changes on android/PC/Mac. Perhaps next year :)

Hope it is of some use to you?!