GSoC-2014: Data Wrangling, Analysis and Visualization

Hello everyone,

I am not quite sure about the formal procedure, (I will figure it out hopefully) but I have a nice idea for an extension, which would be really helpful for many processing users (in my experience).

I am a mathematician who currently continues his studies with a bachelor in media art. My current focus is data analysis and most important visualization. Creative, good looking, interactive visualization plays a key role in understanding high dimensional complex data set. They while being a great interactive and beautiful form of narration are a major tool in gathering meaning out of information.

In my daily work I spend a lot of time with data retrieving, data wrangling and data processing. For this work I am mostly using Python (with the pandas library), Javascript and R. If I want to create good looking visualization - especially if I want to work on a prototype - I always switch to processing in the next step. It is the fastest and easiest way for to give your data an aesthetic flavor.

A big minus on this procedure is: there is always a big abstraction gap between the data wrangling and analyzing and the visualizing in the end. This makes feedback loops in your work (generate your visualization, detect errors, switch back to the data...) really annoying and time consuming. Also, in my point of view, it leaves processing in the design / arts hemisphere, while it would be great tool in visualization - especially if normal processing users like artists and designers are able to work on data related stuff easily.

So my suggestion for a contribution is a library, which is working similar to pandas, or maybe which just delivers a kind of framework / interface to handle data in processing the more easy way.

Possible starting points could be: