GSOC-2014: Some ideas about Android

edited March 2014 in Summer of Code 2014

Hello everyone! :) My name is Imil Ziyaztdinov, 18, and I'm currently in my 2nd year of studying Computer Science at the Higher School of Economics in Moscow, Russia.

I've been using Processing a lot during my study to accomplish most programming-related tasks so I was really excited to see the project among selected for GSOC this year. Now I'm trying to find out what can I do, and, since Android development is my main focus for more than two years, this was the area that caught my attention.

Since I'm just starting to discover Processing on Android (haven't used it before), I would really appreciate if someone more experienced could give some comments about ideas that came into my head at this moment, maybe some of these ideas are already implemented/already being implemented/not worth implementing :) (I'm also thinking about working on some ideas already published in the wiki on the Projects-list page, especially first one about device API usage samples looks interesting).

So here are a couple ideas that I want to get your feedback on.

1) Some simple AndroidManifest editor GUI, probably on top of currently offered Permissions selector - a tool where users could give a title for the application, change app version, select launcher icon (i know, you can currently place 3 icons in the sketch folder which will replace default icon, but we could possibly provide a simple editor similar to what Android Studio has), select compatible screens, and select needed permissions.