Processing on Raspberry Pi (video)

we're working on configuring the Pi (raspbian linux) as an embedded media player, with Arduino to handle the bit-fiddling stuff (switches sensors pots etc). have Processing installed and running OK. we have two Pi test machines, each is having a different video problem. i'm an experienced programmer and linux geek.

i have two test videos, one MP4 and one .MOV, both play fine on the Pi using omxplayer, command line or within an xterm in blackbox (X window manager).

however, the simple play-video sketch (below) fails, on machine #1 with errors below. i suspect this is a video format/codec issue; how does Processing decode video? where are the codecs? are MP4 and (MOV is suspect) good choices? I assumed that MPEG4 would be the format of choice (tl;dnr MPEG4 codec on raspbian) but maybe not. as i type this i increasingly assume the problem is my lack of knowledge on how Processing decodes video....

VIDEO PLAYER TEST CODE

import processing.video.*;
Movie M;

void setup() {
  size(640, 480);
  M= new Movie(this, "/home/pi/TEST.MOV");  
  M.loop();
}

void draw() {
  M.read();
  image (M, 0, 0);
}

ERRORS...

in debug window and shell stderr or stdout:

Listening for transport dt_socket at address: 8305
A library relies on native code that's not available.
Or only works properly when the sketch is run as a 64-bit  application.

in the Processing application's brown frame:

A library used by this sketch is not installed properly.

highlighting the line containing "new Movie (this, "

i get the same results with test.mp4 and TEST.MOV.

used this to install processing: http://cagewebdev.com/index.php/raspberry-pi-running-processing-on-your-raspi/

Comments

• Processing uses gstreamer for video playback, is gstreamer installed on raspbian linux?

• How is processing running on the pi? i got it working but it was very very slow........