How to code a 3d metaball ?

edited April 2018 in Python Mode

Hi everyone,

Among the various coding challenges I set for myself there's one at the top of my list that still remains obscure and rather complex to me: coding a 3d metaball.

Since I first saw Zack Lieberman's work on 3d blobs and metaballs I've been obssessed with them.

made by Zack Lieberman with OpenFrameworks

made by Satoshi Horii (Rhizomatics) probably with OpenFrameworks

made by Mike Walczyk with OpenFrameworks and rendered in TouchDesigner (? not sure)

made by Martin Meurin with Processing

I've read the wikipedia page, I know from other sources that it may involve Ray Marching shaders and Signed distance Functions but the problem is I haven't been able to find a source code, even a snippet, to work on. I'm relatively new to Processing and starting from scratch for this challenge seems really tough.

I would love to read your suggestions and advices. If you have any link to tutorials, step-by-step roadmaps or even code in Java, Python or even C++ I would really appreciate if you could share it here.

Thank you !

Answers

• Did you read the 2D metaball? It’s essentially a heat map of summing up distances to the balls.

if you think this in 3D you would have a 3D heat map. That means triple nested for loop over a section of space and adding up colors following distance to balls.

• Of course very slow... But okay to make a movie

• edited April 2018

Of course I've read it but it seems that coding a 3d metaball is slightly more complicated than just adding another dimension to the 2d version.

The solution you suggest is computationnally very expensive and doesn't take into account the tracing of the metaball edges.

Quoting Zack Lieberman:

Metaballs is an old school computer graphics algorithm where you define shapes via an implicit functions and use a technique like marching cubes to trace the edges of those functions on some sort of grid.

Quoting Mike Walczyk: