Creating random number generator

edited April 2018 in Arduino

This is my first time ever using any programming language. I'm trying to create a small button attached to an arduino board that generates a random number from 0-100 on my computer screen while attached via USB. I looked at the reference area to try to figure out what do I write, but I am a bit lost. I could please use some help!

Answers

• edited April 2018

1) Can you generate a random number? Like, at all?

2) Can you display a number? At all?

3) Can you display the number you generated?

4) Can you generate a new random number every time you click the mouse?

5) Can your sketch communicate with your Arduino?

6) Can your button communicate with Arduino?

7) Can your sketch get some signal from the Arduino when the button is pressed?

8) Can you regenerate the random number when that signal is received instead of using a mouse click?

Break your problem down into smaller problems! More than likely you may be able to tackle some of them yourself... AND IF YOU CAN THEN WE DON'T NEED TO HELP YOU WITH THAT PART. So show us what you have working so far SO WE KNOW WHAT WE DON'T NEED TO HELP YOU WITH. If you don't do that, you're asking us to do the WHOLE THING for you without doing ANYTHING yourself!

• The farthest I've seem to have gotten is simply having my arduino board and button interact with a LED. I don't know how to generate random numbers at all or how to use processing with the button.

Here is the sketch I have so far.

void setup() {
      pinMode(2, INPUT);
      pinMode(3, OUTPUT);

}

Void loop() {
      if (digitalRead(2) == HIGH) {
       digitalWrite(3, HIGH);
    } else {
       digitalWrite(3, LOW);

}

}

• Ok, this is the code in your arduino. Tell us where do you want to implement the random part? Have you run processing code before? Can your processing code talk to your arduino board using a serial connection?