P5 / webgl / something else ...

Hi!

I have been using processing for many years and have now started to write shaders to get better speed with the GPU. I want to do things for the web. I have done some stuff in P5 but wounder what is best of putting time in? Go deeper into P5 which would be pretty easy since I know processing that well or put my time into WebGL or something else?

I saw this list: https://www.slant.co/topics/28/~best-javascript-drawing-libraries

And also this comparission between P5 and pixiJS, guess pixiJS also are using webGL: http://blindfish3.github.io/p5-playground/exploding-image/ http://blindfish3.github.io/pixijs-playground/exploding-image01/

And this webgl cubes: http://alteredqualia.com/three/examples/webgl_cubes.html

Give me your input

Thanks

Comments

• Haven't seen those in a while :D

To be fair to p5 I've no idea if the speed comparison in those sketches is still valid; but pixiJS was certainly much faster at the time and still claims to be "the fastest, most flexible 2d WebGL renderer".

My input:

The drawing libraries list isn't that helpful as it contains libraries that are all designed to do very different things: from fast 2D rendering (pixijs) to interactive drawing with DOM elements (D3), to charts, 3D etc...

If you know you want to concentrate on 2D or 3D with WebGL I'd suggest you concentrate your efforts on one of the dedicated libraries: pixiJS or EaselJS (for 2D) or three.js seem like obvious choices - i.e. well established and used in professional-grade projects. From my experience with pixiJS the transition from Processing is fairly straightforward: you'll find it has obvious equivalents to setup() and draw() and it's well documented.