GSoC 2014 Idea: Git Manager Tool

edited February 2014 in Summer of Code 2014

Hi everyone!

My name is Joel Ruben Antony Moniz, and I'm a second year student pursuing my B.E. (Hons) Computer Science at BITS Pilani, Pilani campus in India.

I have been using Processing for almost a year now. I have also been contributing to the project form around 2months now, and have submitted 2 pull requests to Processing (adding an AutoSave feature and adding a Progress Bar when Saving As), and am eagerly awaiting the community's opinion as to how those features are, how they can be improved, whether they violate any of the Processing project's coding styles, etc.

I'd love to take my participation in Processing to the next level by participating in GSoC 2014. In particular, I checked out the list of potential tools and the GitHub Integration idea caught my fancy. I have been using Github for a few months now, and this is a tool that I could really relate to. I did a project using Processing last summer, where I built an entire game from scratch. I have created a GitHub repo for it. When making the project, I kept Saving As at each stage, and changing the project name. I eventually ended up with around 8 copies of the same project! On looking back, I realize how much simpler and neater a version control like Git would have been. Further, if I ever plan to take the project to this next level, and make it a full blown game (along with a few friends, say), GitHub would provide me with everything I'd ever need to manage this operation effortlessly. This is what inspired me to come up with an idea for the implementation of a GitHub management tool in Processing.