creating a moving arrow...

Hey, I'm new to processing and am stuck trying to get an arrow (made form three seperate lines) which forms a class with its own variables e.g velocity/speed etc. I am curious as to how I would attempt getting the arrow to rotate when it hits the boundaries of the screen and then travel in the direction of which it is heading and to continue doing so for all four edges of the screen.

This is my code so far...

int len = 8; int posX, posY = 0; int speedX, speedY = 0;

void setup(){ size(400,400); }

void draw(){ speedY++; speedX++; background(255); strokeWeight(2); stroke(255,0,0); posX += speedX; posY += speedY; drawArrow(posX,posY,80,10);

}

void drawArrow(int cx, int cy, int len, float angle){ pushMatrix(); translate(cx, cy); rotate(radians(angle)); line(0,0,len, 0); line(len, 0, len - 8, -8); line(len, 0, len - 8, 8); popMatrix(); }

any help with this would be great :) thanks!

Answers

• edited February 2015

See How to format code and text...
    See also the Objects tutorial, and perhaps also From several arrays to classes.

• Hey, thanks for replying! That has helped me out a lot, thank you :) This is my code so far:

int x = 100;

int y = 100;

int speedX = 4;

int speedY = 1;

int len = 8;

void setup() {

size(400, 400);

smooth();

}

void draw() {

background(0);

strokeWeight(2);

stroke(255, 0, 0);

drawArrow(x, y, 80, 10);

x = x + speedX;

y = y + speedY;

if ((x > width-60) || (x < 0-20))

{

speedX = speedX * -1;

}

if ((y > height) || (y < 0))

{

speedY = speedY * -1;

}

stroke(0);

fill(255);

}

void drawArrow(int cx, int cy, int len, float angle) {

pushMatrix();

translate(cx, cy);

rotate(radians(angle));

line(0, 0, len, 0);

line(len, 0, len - 8, -8);

line(len, 0, len - 8, 8);

popMatrix();

}

i have attempted adding a rotation each time it hits the edges of the screen but can't seem to implement this, any suggestions?

• edited February 2015