How do you constrain a continuous line on background image?

edited September 2014 in How To...

Hello, I am new to processing and working on a class assignment. I am trying to create a continuous line that stays on only one part of my background image. The problem I'm having is when I upload my background image I can no longer draw anything..the line doesn't stay continuous. Also I would like to be able to constrain the drawing area to only be on one part of my background and I thought I could do this by adding a noFill() rectangle but it's not working. Can someone take a look at my code and help me out? Should I make it into a class? Please and thank you for your time!

PImage img;

void setup() { img = loadImage("bg.png"); size(800,600); }

void draw() { image(img,0,0); stroke(255); if (mousePressed == true) { line(mouseX, mouseY, pmouseX, pmouseY); } }

Answers

• Hello there haleyhat! I have found the problem in you're sketch. What you need to do is put the image in the setup() function and take it out the the draw();

Like this:

PImage img;

void setup() { 
    img = loadImage("bg.png"); size(800,600); 
      image(img,0,0); 
    }

void draw() {
      stroke(0);
      if (mousePressed == true) {
        line(mouseX, mouseY, pmouseX, pmouseY); 
    } 
    }

Hope this helps, RywesTech.

www.rywestech.com

• Oh, almost forgot! If you want it to be on only one portion, just create a if statement and a few variables, then use the if statement to say "if the X and Y values are bigger than Bla bla bla, then don't draw there" if you need help on that just ask.

-RywesTech

www.rywestech.com

• Awesome thanks so much! I'll try it out

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 11.37.36 AM

Is there a simpler way to do this? Also, how would I get the drawing to reset after a minute? Sorry for all the questions but thank you for your help!

• edited September 2014 Answer ✓

1st of all, a potential bug warning: 8-X