Slider that move with mouse over

edited August 2014 in How To...

Hi I'm new to processing and was wandering if anybody could help me out with this.

**I need to make a slider that moves when the mouse is over it. When the mouse is no longer over them they remain in their last position. The slider does not need to report any information, it is purely for visual purpose **

Here's what i've so far.

void setup() { size(640,1136); }

void draw() {

background(230);

if (mouseY<(1136/6))

{ fill(202,45,36); noStroke(); rectMode(CORNERS); rect(mouseX,(1136/6),0,0); fill(100); }

textSize(20);

fill(255);
text("Keep the slider in last position! ", 320, 1136/12); textAlign(CENTER);

}

Thank you very much for any advice

Answers

• edited August 2014

Thanks for any help

• _vk_vk
    Answer ✓

When you put all the code for drawing the slider inside the if block checking for mouse over it, it will only exist when the mouse is over it... Also you will need a var to store the position, this var should be updated when mouse is over the slider. So move the drawing outside the if block and put there the updating of var.

something like this:

int sliderVal;
    void setup() { 
      size(640, 1136);
    }

void draw() {

background(230);

if (mouseY<(1136/6)) {
        sliderVal = mouseX;
      } 
      fill(202, 45, 36); 
      noStroke(); 
      rectMode(CORNERS); 
      rect(sliderVal, (1136/6), 0, 0); 
      fill(100); 

textSize(20);

fill(255);
      text("Keep the slider in last position! ", 320, 1136/12); 
      textAlign(CENTER);
    }

• thank you so much, that makes perfect sense, a really good explanation.

Thanks again!!!!

• _vk_vk
    Answer ✓