how to embed a sketch in a website

Hi,

I am new to processing and have little proficiency in javascript. I would like to know how to embed sketches in my web site. I have browsed the forum but the answers I found are not very detailed. Can anyone help ? Thanks!

Answers

• Answer ✓

I believe you have to switch to JavaScript mode, then to export the sketch.

• edited August 2014 Answer ✓

... and have little proficiency in JavaScript.

Although JavaScript is apparently very similar to Java, when it comes to objects, it's a complex & diff. world.
    While Java is an object oriented language, JS is object based. Seems similar, but it's alien to each other!
    I advise you to learn Processing's "CoffeeScript Mode" in order to use JS libraries and define classes similar to Java!

• edited August 2014

ok, when I have a sketch and save it as test.js, how can I then embed it in html?

<html>

<head>
    <title>JavaScript-Test</title>
    <script src="test.js" type="text/javascript">
    </script>
    </head>

<body>

<script>
    draw(); 
    </script> 

</body>
    </html>

?

Thank you!

Chrisir ;-)

• edited August 2014 Answer ✓

with this being the content of test.js (it's from www.openprocessing.org, probably one of the easiest ways to post something on the web)

int counter;

void setup() {  //setup function called initially, only once
      size(250, 250);
      background(255);  //set background white
      colorMode(HSB);   //set colors to Hue, Saturation, Brightness mode
      counter = 0;
    }

void draw() {  //draw function loops 
      counter++;
      noStroke();
      fill(random(255),100,255,50);

if(mousePressed == true) { //add some interaction
        ellipse(mouseX, mouseY, 20, 20);
      }
      else {
        ellipse(width/2, height/2, 80*sin(counter), 80*sin(counter));
      }
    }