Class & Object

edited April 2014 in Hello Processing

Dear all,

I'm a completely new beginner to Processing.

A class looks like this:

Class Car{ //** CLASS NAME**

color c;   // **CLASS DATA/VARIABLES**
        float xpos;
        float ypos;
        float xspeed;

Car (color tempC, float tempXpos, float tempYpos, float tempXspeed){ // **CONSTRUCTOR**

c = tempC;
        xpos = tempXpos;
        ypos = tempYpos;
        xpseed = tempXspeed;
        }

void display(){ //**FUNCTIONS**
        stroke(0);
        fill(c);
        rectMode(CENTER);
        rect(xpos,ypos,20,10);
        }

void move(){
        xpos = xpos + xspeed;
        if( xpos > width) {
        xpos = 0;
        }
        }
        }

Now my question is, does an object created from this class example, look like this:

Car myCar {

color c = color(255,0,0);
xpos = 0;
ypos = 100;
xspeed = 1;

}

void display(){ //**FUNCTIONS**
stroke(0);
fill(c);
rectMode(CENTER);
rect(xpos,ypos,20,10);
}

void move(){
xpos = xpos + xspeed;
if( xpos > width) {
xpos = 0;
}
}
}

I know what classes look like, but don't know what objects look like.

Do Objects look the same as the class, with data and functions, but minus the constructor?

I need help on this. Cheers!

Answers

• you can auto-format your code in processing by pressing ctrl-t

The tutorial is excellent

The main idea is that a class is a cookie-maker and the object is the cookie.

Therefore no need to repeat everything in the class for the object.

Basically the object gets everything from the class. That's what it's all about (remember cookie and cookie-maker).

So just say

Car myCar ;

and then

myCar = new Car ( color(199,2,2), 123, 210, 4 );

Greetings, Chrisir ;-)

• edited April 2014

Basically the only thing which actually ends up being instantiated are non-static fields.
    Every other class member stays bound to the original class. So it saves memory! O:-)