Thread safe tips?

I have a separate thread for my gameloop locked at 150hz, and VSync turned on so draw() runs at the monitors refresh rate. This works great for keeping the gameplay stable, responsive, with smooth graphics.

I'm a java noob, I've tried many different mixes of using synchronized (), volatile, CopyOnWriteArrayList, I can't seem to avoid getting random crashes on my gamethread. Things like modifying an arraylist or pshape in the gameloop and accessing it for drawing seem to cause problems. The errors vary but it's usually complaining about not finding a vertex or arraylist entry it expected to find or java.util.ConcurrentModificationException for arraylists in the gameloop, EmpyStackException when using resetMatrix() on a pshape from inside my draw loop. Sometimes it manifests as drawing corrupted versions of my PShapes.

What's the recommended method to go about doing this and keeping it safe? Sometimes I can play my game for 10+ minutes without a problem, sometimes it will lock up right away several times in a row.

https://indielm.itch.io/platformbattler here's the game, it was made very quick for a jam so I'd need to clean up the code before sharing it.

Tagged:

Answers

• My best advice to you at this stage is not too use threading. Either use delta time (change between frames) or update logic multiple times per draw(). Threading is hard! You'll get a lot of advice on here that might not work correctly, and likely won't fix your issue, and probably won't perform any better than doing this single threaded in the first place. Don't prematurely optimize as they say - get it working properly, then figure out whether you have a performance issue.