Making a Sound Meter

Hello!

I have a problem. I am a newbie with processing and I'm trying to make a sound meter similar to one that you would see on a lie detecter test/or a Joy Division album cover. I've only been using processing for a month now, and the problem I'm running into is that every time I make a sound my image jumps and looks like squares instead of curved lines.

Hoping I could get some help....

-Clinton

import processing.sound.*; AudioIn in; Amplitude amp; float x=50; float y=10; float c; void setup() { frameRate (300); size (1500, 500); amp=new Amplitude(this); in=new AudioIn(this, 0); in.start(); amp.input(in); background(255); }

void draw() { c=amp.analyze()*50; beginShape(); stroke(25);

line(x, y, x, y-c); line(x, y, x, y+c); x++; if (x>width) { y=y+10; x=0; } }

Answers

• edited March 2018

Please format your code. Edit your post (gear on top right side of any of your posts), select your code and hit ctrl+o. Leave an empty line above and below your block of code. Details here: https://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/15473/readme-how-to-format-code-and-text

Demo below.

Kf

import processing.sound.*; 

final int STEPX=4;
    final int STEPY=30;

AudioIn in; 
    Amplitude amp; 
    float x=50; 
    float y=STEPY; 
    float c; 
    PVector prevPoint;

void setup() { 
      size (displayWidth, 500); 
      amp=new Amplitude(this); 
      in=new AudioIn(this, 0); 
      in.start(); 
      amp.input(in); 
      background(255);
      prevPoint=new PVector(0, y);
    }

void draw() { 
      c=amp.analyze()*50; 
      beginShape(); 
      stroke(25);

line(prevPoint.x,prevPoint.y, x+STEPX, y+c);

if (x>width) { 
        y=y+STEPY; 
        x=0;
      }

prevPoint.set( x=x+STEPX, y+c);

}

P.S. The code for the line() function above could be replace with:

beginShape();
      vertex(prevPoint.x, prevPoint.y);
      vertex( x+STEPX, y+c);
      endShape();

• Hey KF,