Project Proposal - Creating a Kick-start Manual for Architects and Urban Designers

Namaste..!

My name is Milind Goel. I completed my Bachelors in Architecture from School of Planning and Architecture Delhi (India's oldest and highest ranked institute of architecture studies), securing a double gold medal. My primary focus was on computational designs and research on emergence.

While exploring algorithmic thinking in form generation, during my undergraduate dissertation at my Alma mater and my current research project at the University of Auckland, I realised that Processing has several applications in architecture and urban design. However, I found out that although processing was popular amongst creative professionals in the visual arts, students / professionals from architecture and urban studies are not aware of the platform.

Whenever I introduce Processing to people engaged in computational design, I always receive a positive response. However, based on the feedback I received, the problem behind the lack of awareness (and exploration) is that there are no introductory code-examples / guides that directly relate to architects and urban designers, since a programming language is not something they learn unless it plugs-in into a mainstream 3D-modelling software (like Python, VB...)

I intend to create examples (and re-purpose some existing ones) to introduce processing to architects and urban designers, and illustrate how the programming language can be leveraged for everyday tasks and challenges in architecture and urban-design.