Lag with a moderately big program

I created a 2D shooter game with a few extra stuff like bonuses, shots and enemy boxes. The game creates a square pellt every third of a second and creates a random square enemy every few seconds. Overall the game checks many (around between 1000-10.000 (depends on the number of enemies and shots)) "if"-s 60 times/second. The game laggs. In some computers it's not really enjoyable. It only has a few sound effects with "minim" and doesn't have any Images. All of the pc's that I tried can run very complicated trending multiplayer games too, and so I'm confused. Is it Processing's fault, is it sth else? Should I try an other program? I'm still a noob in programing, and I can't understand how can such a simple program have performance problems.

Answers

• we have to guess what you've done that is slow? doesn't seem fair.

• edited October 2017

Sorry, I'm just asking if it's usual for processing to be unable to run bigger codes smoothly. and if it would be beneficial for me to use an other program.

• It's a few hundred 'if'-s and some calculations cuz of them. I don't think it should be a problem, but it is.

• I don't think it should be a problem

I'm still a noob in programing

• It is possible that you are making a common mistake with big consequences for memory use / speed. For example:

• calling loadImage() every time draw() loops (BAD)
    • infinitely adding on to an arrayList
    • unnecessarily iterating through the square of all possible collision detections
    • ... etc.

But, as @koogs points out, if you don't share your code, we can't read your mind. It isn't reasonable to ask the forum to guess -- share your code and let the forum help you with a concrete problem.

Imagine trying to answer this question with no further details: "I cooked a thing in what I think is the right way, but it burnt. Is that normal for your stove, or is it a bad stove? I don't know much about cooking."

• edited November 2017