Problem getting Kinect connected... EDITED: Wait, what about OpenNI and NITE?! = Confused

edited January 2014 in Kinect

I'm new to Processing and this forum so please bare with me as I find my way to the correct language and format for posting here. I am appreciative of any and all help I get as I begin working with this wonderful set of tools.

I am trying to get my Kinect setup to run with Processing. I think I have everything installed now, and I have run the kinect with glview after the last bit of installing with homebrew. I went into Processing (2.1) to try and run a simple depth image sketch to see that was all working. Here is the code:

import SimpleOpenNI.*;

SimpleOpenNI  context;

void setup()
{
  context = new SimpleOpenNI(this);

// enable depthMap generation 
  context.enableDepth();

// enable camera image generation
  context.enableRGB();

background(200,0,0);
  size(context.depthWidth() + context.rgbWidth() + 10, context.rgbHeight()); 
}

void draw()
{
  // update the cam
  context.update();

// draw depthImageMap
  image(context.depthImage(),0,0);

// draw camera
  image(context.rgbImage(),context.depthWidth() + 10,0);
}

I get this information with my "Can't run the sketch" Error:

SimpleOpenNI Version 1.96
After initialization:

send_cmd: Data buffer is 322 bytes long, but got 334 bytes
freenect_fetch_zero_plane_info: send_cmd read 334 bytes (expected 322)
freenect_camera_init(): Failed to fetch zero plane info for device
libc++abi.dylib: terminating with uncaught exception of type std::runtime_error: Cannot open Kinect
Could not run the sketch (Target VM failed to initialize).
Make sure that you haven't set the maximum available memory too high.