Genetic algorithm driven ecosystem

Hi everyone, i'd like to share with you the project i'm working on. First of all i want to give credit to Daniel Shiffman form "the coding train", i started learning Processing just a month ago, and i heavily relied on his amazing work.

This is an ecosystem simulation in which creatures can evolve from generation to generation based on their previous performances. There are 2 main classes of creatures, herbivores (Bloops = black/pink circles) and carnivores (Predators = brown/red triangles). Each species implements steering behavior such as seek and flee based on their own senses.

they carry a dna that initialize their stats like hearing range, max health, and so on. When two creatures mate, the dna is taken from the parents and mixed to generate a child that will carry his parents genes. To avoid evolution to strive just for maximizing stats, every value is inversely proportional to another one (eg. hearing is initialized by gene[0], smell is equal to the maximum possible hearing value - hearing, so if you have incredibly developed hears, you'll end up with almost no sense of smell and vice versa). That way evolution will have to find a good balance between stats over time. After reaching the mating age, every creature can emit hormones to attract possible partners. if the ecosystem collapse (less than 2 creatures left per species) it resets, evaluate every creatures based on age and child number, randomly choose among creatures (higher evaluation = higher chance of being chosen), cross their genes, and generates a new ecosystem populated with the newborn children.

I tried to comment the code as much as possible to make it readable. This is unfinished but still fun to watch. Right click to show/hide the thinking process of the creatures. Click on a creature to show/hide its senses.

World world;

boolean thinkingProcess = true;
int generations;
int lifetime;
int numF;
int numB;
int numP;
float mutationRate;
float bestBloop;