Pitch Detection Algorithm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Processing, and not an advanced coder. I am a guitar teacher, building some little serious games that interact with the notes instruments play. I'm used to work with Max/MSP, which is fine for "still graphics" softwares, but I'd like to migrate to Processing for creating more advanced graphical animations, for more artistic applications responding to the notes an instrument plays.

Here's my problem : on Max/MSP i'm using an object called sigmund~ which was built by Ted Apel and Miller Puckette and works fine for me. It detects notes from an audio signal and converts it to midi.

Do you know any library available in Processing that can do this job (capturing audio, detect pitch and convert to midi - or be used directly within Processing) ? I've seen a few things in these forums but didn't get enough information.

Thank you very much for your help, Thibault

Answers

• Minim is a good library- look at that in the library section of processing.org Well documented

Moreover since processing is java, you can in theory use any java library

• Possibly check out the frequency functions in the minim analysis package

http://code.compartmental.net/minim/index_analysis.html

also see TheMIDIbus midi library for Processing

http://www.smallbutdigital.com/projects/themidibus/

• Hello Chrisir and jeremydouglas, thank you for your answers. I already looked in this minim library, but didn't find what I looked for. I double checked it when you told me to dig in. FFT seems to be great but as far as I've read, it is not enough for accurate and robust pitch tracking. It needs to be used as a small part of an whole algorithm. (It's not an affirmation, it's what I read). I've read some things on this page : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pitch_detection_algorithm

I'd like to be able to use YAAPT, RAPT or YIN in processing, via a Library... (Or any accurate and fast algorithm).

• edited July 21