3D wayponts with real distances and real height in order to simulate a flight pattern

edited June 2017 in Library Questions

I'm a rookie programmer , I'm trying to develop a tool with processing that receive in input a series of 3D waypoint (distance, range and angle) and than connect all this point and draw the 3D flight patten (wayponint with geodata and interpolation lines that connects all togethar). I tryed to use PROSCENE lib. with poor results (but is due to my low skill), but I fell that there should be an easy way. Can someone give me some hints or a reference code to work with? thanks a lot. Petrix

Answers

• it's usually better to post what you have so that we don't have to start from nothing

even if it's only the data.

• Keep in mind that PVector has a dist() method, and that line() takes 3 arguments.

For geodata ( if I'm understanding right ) you might want to consider unfoldingmaps plus altitude data. It really depends on what you are trying to accomplish.

• distance, range and angle

What is a distance and a range? And the angle, is that with respect to some reference point? I am thinking you would need at least two angles, phi and theta.

You should explore @Chrisir's version of LOGO. It might work if you translate your data into data points that his code could process: https://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/comment/93370/#Comment_93370
    I don't think it will work right out of the box but it could be a starting point. You should explore his video tutorial and evaluate if you could use it for your challenge.

Kf

• Ypu right, I wrote in incorrect way - It is as you say - range, elevation and beraring (azimuth). I need it all North referenced. thanks to all, I've got a preliminary scketch, soon I'll submit it. G

• I do not understand why I cant display within a simple routine this 3 boxes, while if they are ouside all is OK, see please my code:

////////// file data positions.txt (in data folder) is this

10 10 10 50 40 10 20 30 30